Techno Press
You logged in as Techno Press

Steel and Composite Structures
  Volume 23, Number 6, April30 2017 , pages 691-714

Comparison of different cylindrical shell theories for stability of nanocomposite piezoelectric separators containing rotating fluid considering structural damping
H. Rahimi Pour, A. Ghorbanpour Arani and G.A. Sheikhzadeh

    Rotating fluid induced vibration and instability of embedded piezoelectric nano-composite separators subjected to magnetic and electric fields is the main contribution of present work. The separator is modeled with cylindrical shell element and the structural damping effects are considered by Kelvin–Voigt model. Single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNTs) are used as reinforcement and effective material properties are obtained by mixture rule. The perturbation velocity potential in conjunction with the linearized Bernoulli formula is used for describing the rotating fluid motion. The orthotropic surrounding elastic medium is considered by spring, damper and shear constants. The governing equations are derived on the bases of classical shell theory (CST), first order shear deformation theory (FSDT) and sinusoidal shear deformation theory (SSDT). The nonlinear frequency and critical angular fluid velocity are calculated by differential quadrature method (DQM). The detailed parametric study is conducted, focusing on the combined effects of the external voltage, magnetic field, visco-Pasternak foundation, structural damping and volume percent of SWCNTs on the stability of structure. The numerical results are validated with other published works as well as comparing results obtained by three theories. Numerical results indicate that with increasing volume fraction of SWCNTs, the frequency and critical angular fluid velocity are increased.
Key Words
    viscoelastic separators; rotating fluid; different shell theories; orthotropic viscoelastic medium; DQM
(1) H. Rahimi Pour, A. Ghorbanpour Arani, Gh. Sheikhzadeh:
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, University of Kashan, Kashan, Iran;
(2) A. Ghorbanpour Arani:
Institute of Nanoscience& Nanotechnology, University of Kashan, Kashan, Iran.

Techno-Press: Publishers of international journals and conference proceedings.       Copyright © 2024 Techno Press
P.O. Box 33, Yuseong, Daejeon 305-600 Korea, Tel: +82-42-828-7996, Fax : +82-42-828-7997, Email: